PACMAS baseline study

The aim of the project is to support the development of diverse, independent and professional media that promotes informed and meaningful public discourse throughout the region and thereby supports better governance in the Pacific.

The objectives of this research are to:

  • Develop an in-depth understanding of the Pacific media environment, including capacity building, content and distribution systems, using a combination of desk-based review, and stakeholder interviews and survey.
  • Identify key trends, major opportunities and constraints or challenges to a free, well-functioning and independent media sector in the Pacific Region.
  • Determine priority areas for media development and provide recommendations for future action.
  • Provide baseline measures on the key evaluation questions for PACMAS across its four components—media capacity-building, media policy and legislation, media systems and media content based on the above.

This project incorporates a Communication for Development approach that, at its core, recognizes the importance of appreciating diversity and complexity of media environments. We take these into account in baseline measures that enable development organizations to better design and implement media and communication assistance programs and, in turn, work towards the goal of lasting and sustainable development.

The work is being undertaken through a partnership between a core team of Professor Jo Tacchi and Dr Heather Horst at RMIT University, Dr Verena Thomas and Joys Eggins at the Centre for Social and Creative Media at the University of Goroka, and Associate Professor Evangelia Papoutsaki at UNITEC.

Photo by ABC International, 2011


Start By 1 August 2012
Completed By 30 September 2012
Funding ABC International Development


Researcher(s) Joys Eggins (University of Goroka), Heather Horst, Evangelia Papoutsaki (UNITEC, New Zealand), Jo Tacchi, Verena Thomas (University of Goroka)
Program Globalization and Culture
Location(s) Alofi – Niue
Apia – Samoa
Avarua – Cook Islands
Federated States of Micronesia
Funafuti – Tuvalu
Honiara – Solomon Islands
Majuro – Marshall Islands
Melekeok State – Palau
Nuku’alofa – Tonga
Port Moresby – Papua New Guinea
Port Vila – Vanuatu
Suva – Fiji
Tarawa – Kiribati
Yaren – Nauru